Forza Series Turns Ten


On May 3, 2005, the original Forza Motorsport was released for the XBox. The series has grown to become Microsoft’s flagship racing franchise, spanning all three of their consoles.

Since then, one sequel to the Forza series has been released every two years.  Forza Motorsport 2 appeared in 2007 for the XBox 360, Forza Motorsport 3 made its debut in 2009, again on the 360, Forza Motorsport 4 showed up in 2011, and Forza Motorsport 5 in 2013. To fill the gaps in between main releases, Microsoft introduced a spinoff called Forza Horizon which made its first appearance in 2012 and its second in 2014.

Congratulations to the series were both sent yesterday from the official Forza Twitter account as well as from the Twitter of XBox president Phil Spencer.

Forza Motorsport
May 3, 2005 it all began. Ten amazing years of Forza! Thanks to all our fans around the world.
11:51 AM – 3 May 2015

Phil Spencer
Congrats, it’s been a good ride.
6:35 PM – 3 May 2015

Seeing as it has almost been two years again, the series will continue biannually like clockwork with Forza Motorsport 6, which launches this fall for Xbox One.

Like this Article? Subscribe to Our Feed!

About Peter Paltridge

Recommended for you

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply